CEO/FounderGravitas Publications Inc./Nachokat LLC

New Mexico

Member Since May 2022

Skills

Teaching
Public Speaking
Curriculum Design

About

I am the founder of Gravitas Publications Inc., a publishing company that specializes in science education materials for kids. I started writing the Real Science-4-Kids science program over 20 years ago, with the goal of filling in the gap between what kids learn in school and what they are expected to know in college. Gravitas has since grown into a successful publishing company, with products used by educators all over the world. I have always been interested in how things work. As an academic scientist, I spent over 20 years working in biophysical chemistry, molecular biology, and neuroscience. My research focused on understanding the fundamental processes that occur at a molecular level. While I was a post-doc and later a research professor, I noticed a gap between what kids are taught in elementary, middle, and high school and what they are expected to know in college. With this in mind, I began writing the Real Science-4-Kids science program to fill in the gap and give kids the basics of fundamental science. In 2003, I founded Gravitas Publications Inc., with the goal of making quality science education available to all students. Gravitas Publications Inc. has been providing science education content for elementary, middle school, and high school students for over 18 years. With over 130 titles in our catalog, we are proud to introduce students to the language of science from a young age. Our books have won several awards over the years, including the popular Homeschool Reader awards. Our books are used internationally by home schools, private schools, and public schools alike. In 2020, I decided to launch another company, Nachokat LLC. My goal is to help all kids love to learn, not just science. We design and manufacture the RATATAZ science program. I recently had the opportunity to guest-teach this program in a mid